Iconic Meanings

This is a quick post about some of the information I will be posting about.  If I am writing about one of the languages I know I will be heading it with an icon representing the file icon within Windows Explorer.  Below is the list and the details for them.

ASM

Assembly Language

This is one of the languages I first dealt within my life as a programmer, it is the one I know the second most about.  I have already put some posts up there about assembly but I plan on expanding my understanding of it, showing ways it can be used and as far as RAW power, nothing other than direct machine op/micro-op codes can be beaten.

cpp-159

C++

This bad boy of the programming scene should need no introductions.  C++ has been the go to language for developing high performance applications or systems where lower level kernel programming was required.  Everything from games to Smart Phone applications have been developed using this, and much of Windows was written using C++ (though some still use assembly). 

cs-1616

C#

The new kid on the block but certainly has become a favourite in many circles and seems to be the default language for using the .NET framework with.  It has the versatility and ability to get down and dirty if needed but has some very high level inclusion that you see in what that call “Kiddy1” languages.

vb-179

Visual Basic

I have been using Visual Basic since version 3 (yikes has it been that long) it might be a language I don’t program much in any more, but not because C# is better.  I will have a fondness in my heart for Visual Basic always and will always include information and advancements on VB.

sqlServer

SQL

Last and not least is SQL.  A language I struggled with in my uni days, possibly being bombarded with Z Specification Language before learning SQL made my mind numb.  But know, I am able to write nice, high performance SQL Code and know what I am writing.

So, these will show items that are specific for the languages.  There might be posts that I cover a great deal of different languages.  I am still tossing up if I use the icon for the main language or include all of them.  I will work it out.  But it will be clear what I am addressing for these languages.

I also write about a great many things.  SWTOR being one I write a great many things about.  So, I will also use this icon scheme where I can for other topics I talk about.  But it will be on a post by post basis.

Will I also go back and change the icons I have done for previous posts, the answer is?  Yes.

  1. “Kiddy” languages is a reference I have heard to what people used to call Basic, then Visual Basic.  It wasn’t object oriented or wasn’t this or that, it couldn’t do this, or do that.  It was a language often seen by the elitist programmers who exclusively dealt with Cobol, Fortran, C++ that VB was not a real programming language.  But the ever expansion of what could be done in VB was growing with each release and the popularity of Visual Basic grew as it become the most popular language for business applications (which one would say was market share). 

    It now has full Object Oriented set it can still be used procedurally if required, the bringing in of these new paradigms didn’t change the way the language was written.  I would say long from the origins of BASIC, Visual Basic has become a mainstay and certainly has deserved its place to line up with C# and C++ as a language usable with the .NET Framework.

Posted on January 14, 2014, in Article, Michael Rogers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

